Shades of plants…

Update with photos of my work as a dyer using a fermentation technique.

Work in progress…

Shades of Bluebell flowers

Shades of Bluebell flowers

I do love these dye tests I’m doing right now. The final results will be less colourful but the whole fermentation process is intriguing and it still amazes me …

The ivy berries dyevat

The ivy berries dyevat with soaking fibers. So exciting…

liquidamber fermented dye

Results of some Liquidambar autumn leaves fermented dye.
Clockwise: linen cloth and thread, BFL lace yarn, alpaca-silk yarn, paper yarn

avocado pits and skins dye vat

Enough avocado pits and skins to start a dyevat. Both skins and pits are completely dry

avocado pits and skins

Avocado skins and pits dye on different fibers. Also the paper was painted with avocado based watercolour paint

Some of my dyevats

Some of my dyevats. So far so good…

One shade of hawthorn and four shades of madder

One shade of hawthorn berries and four shades of madder roots

The first five colours of a new project with at least fifty different colours. Quite an ambitious plan maybe, but hey, that’s only forty five left…

 common bugle flowers dyebad

The common bugle flowers dyebad after 2 days

My guess is it will give a light blue dye. Not sure though ! We’ll have to wait and see…

mysterious grey

Whoohoo ! Look at this mysterious grey…

20170407_130241

Work in process…

2 thoughts on “Shades of plants…

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing your avocado dyes. I have a big load of avocado skins (1.6 kg) that I’m going to extract soon using a boiling method. I’ll have enough left over to try your fermentation method as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

